jump to navigation

Both Firefox 1.5 and Thunderbird 1.5 suck January 21, 2006

Posted by jiez in Uncategorized.
trackback

Mozilla Firefox is always my favorite web browser. And Mozilla Thunderbird is one of my two favorite email clients (the other one is Evolution). I have been using them since their very early days. Before that, I was using Mozilla. Befor that, MS IE. Befor that, Netscape Navigator. I was very glad to see that they were becoming better and better in the past several years. But the new 1.5 versions of both really suck. Firefox 1.5 has a broken download manager. Downloads window shows nothing when it’s downloading someting. The worse is it crashes often. The experience of using it is a disaster. Several days ago Thunderbird 1.5 was released. I upgraded my Ubuntu notebook to use it. It even cannot successfully fetch emails from my Gmail account. Maybe Mozilla Foundation spent too much time on the promotion. They have no time for the stability, which is one of their key features people most like. Finally I have to stick both of them to 1.0.7 version, until 2.0 out. 😦

Here is my apt preference file:

Package: firefox
Pin: release a=breezy
Pin-Priority: 1001

Package: mozilla-firefox
Pin: release a=breezy
Pin-Priority: 1001

Package: firefox-gnome-support
Pin: release a=breezy
Pin-Priority: 1001

Package: mozilla-thunderbird
Pin: release a=breezy
Pin-Priority: 1001

[After reading osstips’s comment, I tried Firefox 1.5 again. The latest version from Ubuntu Dapper seems has the download manager issue fixed. Actually, the Firefox I previously used were 1.4.99, not 1.5. And Thunderbird 1.5 works very well at office. So it’s very possible that it’s an issue of my home FTTB. And I heard this morning from one of my friends that the FTTB service provider of the area where I’m living is upgrading their system.]

Comments»

1. osstips - January 22, 2006

I also got weird issue about Firefox 1.0.7 on my Linux box. I can get nothing but an empty blank page for some of my blogs, but no problem on my laptop in which Firefox 1.5 is installed. So I’m waiting for Firefox 1.5 package for Fedora Core 5.

It takes too long to get new package from Fedora, so I guess application has to be modified to fit into distribution. I suggest you download package from mozilla website, instead use Ubuntu package. If bug is still there, report it. 🙂


Leave a comment